viki’s weekly (sep 9th-sep 15th)

This week I had a meeting, an appointment at the hospital and we celebrated my sister’s birthday.

The meeting on Tuesday went as ok as it could have gone, to be honest. She said we were placed in a strange situation, because usually that meeting would have been followed up by me trying out different activities or jobs. But considering I’m only a few months away from my due date and maternity leave, it’s no use starting something new now. So we just talked a bunch, she tried to get the better of me (Remember my therapist deciding that we would put our conversations on hold for now, so I could focus on being pregnant and preparing for parenthood? Yeah, she was like ‘oh, so you’re well while you’re having the baby and going to get sick again after?’. Yes, because that’s exactly how mental illnesses work. I just hit pause. Dumbass.), but I won’t have to deal with her again so I didn’t bother getting into arguments. I just assured her that I’d go back to see him after my maternity leave and figure out our options from there, and that I would stay in activity, mostly swimming, for the rest of my pregnancy. Hopefully now I won’t have to deal with these people again for a year. I’ll take it.

On Thursday I went to the hospital for my gestational diabetes screening. I had to fast for 8 hours, get my blood drawn, drink some kind of solution with a high volume of glucose in it, wait for 2 hours, and then have my blood drawn again. For someone whose pregnancy has made her hungry at all times and start crying when she can’t eat, this was hell. But I rewarded myself when it was over and immediately went and got chicken wings. It has become one of my main cravings. Anyway, I didn’t get the results at the hospital, as I think it’s being sent to my midwife.

Lastly, on Sunday, my grandparents came to pick up the husband and me for my sister’s birthday celebration. They brought baby’s bed, and they had bought a mattress to go with it. Now we can put up the bed whenever we want to! They also brought a new bed for our furbabies, and new drinking glasses for us. At the birthday, there was food and cake, both my sisters had their hands on my belly all the time since they wanted to feel baby’s kicks, and my mum finally was able to feel them as well. They’re all so excited to be aunts and grandmother, I love it!

This Week of Pregnancy (26+3 – 27+2)
Baby is about 34 cm long and weighs about 1,1 kg. From here on out, if she wuld have to be born, it’s pretty safe to say that she would survive no matter what. My anxious heart is happy. She’s responding so well to outside factors now, like if we put hands on or the pressure from the mattress when I’m in bed. She’s constantly active – it was really fun trying to focus on that blasted meeting while she was kicking up a storm in there – and she’s hiccuping a lot. Going to see the midwife next week, and probably get the results from the diabetes screening.

Weekly Waste of Money
I managed to be good this week too! I’ve ordered some more clothes for myself, though, I’ll admit. But for a good cause! I didn’t have any swimwear, which I kinda need if I’m to start swimming.

Next Week
Appointment with the midwife on Friday. Party on Saturday. My husband and 3 of his friends turn 30, so we’re celebrating 120 years. I’m not looking forward to it. Too many people and alcohol. Oh, well. I’ll be there for a while, for my husband’s sake, but probably go home early.

Leave a comment